Food, Inspiration, Laughter, real life

Life is too short to make preserved lemons

I saw the finished results on someones social media time line, a beautiful tagine with chicken and couscous and preserved lemons. My friend said how nice the flavour was, and how easy it was to make.

I thought – I could do that! But I didn’t have any preserved lemons. So like a fool I asked for the recipe. Being a tad over enthusiastic I read the first bit, went out and bought one of those little jars with the clip on the top, and the lemons and rock salt. How many of us keep all those things in our store cupboard, not me, that’s for sure? I read the recipe again ……. AAAAAH! Once made you have to leave them for 3 months, and keep turning the jar over and over again so the salt is dissolved….

I wanted the lemons then, not in 3 months time. I don’t know what I thought I had let myself in for, something less time consuming than THAT that’s for sure. 3 months relentlessly going to the dark cupboard, turning the lemons, cooing over them, putting them back. Going to the cupboard, turning them over…..you get the picture? And what if I forget to do it? Would I get a thumping headache like the time I forgot my blood pressure tablets for 2 days? Or would the finished product be less than preserved, and the tagine be less than flavorsome.

How do I know! I’m only into day 2 and I’ve forgotten to turn them already……

Standard

Leave a Reply

