Inspiration, real life, Whatever, women

Me, my hair and I.

Today I went to the hairdressers. That’s not unusual, I go on a regular basis. I just love sitting there being pampered. Zingy upbeat music, and stylish surrounding, not forgetting a cheeky little head massage and the evocative perfume of the hair products. Fresh coffee and if I’m really naughty one of those little biscuits they leave on the saucer.  Together with some glitzy magazines to read – not my usual read, I’m not a celebrity chaser, but there is always something there that’s interesting. Today it was Angelina Jolie and her recent health scare. And Prince Charles and Camilla, and how she is now more accepted by the British public.

Anyway back to the hair. I go to a high street hairdressers called HeadMasters. Full of young girls who dress in Black and White, often with stylish multicolored hair, trim figures and always what seems like a bright and cheerful outlook on life. I love my hairdresser, I have known her for about 7 years. She knows my family in side and out, what my sons and their girlfriends do, my job, and the fact my hubby loves shopping, but hates wearing long sleeves on a shirt. You see the kind of relationship we have? I feel I can share anything with her – well almost – there are others listening, so we don’t get too personal!

We have matured together. I can sit down and tell her what I want, well what I think I want. And she guides me into having what will suit me. As individuals we often see things on other women, but then forget it may not look so good on us! My face is round, if my hair is too fussy, it looks like a meringue on a cake! Not a good look for someone the wrong side of 50! And of course over the years time has taken its toll, its not that lovely lush auburn it was in my youth, I like to think its more like a silver fox now. But its not so thick, and it breaks easily, so she reassure me the wispy bits at the fringe will grow back. And reminds me how quickly it grows in the spring and summer, it puts my mind at rest. She shows me how to dry it so it sits just right, and talks me through the colours that will enhance the white streak at the front of my fringe, without making me look like a zebra as it grows out. And when I want a little variety, she does it with enthusiasm, and always without fail makes me look like a million dollars as I walk out through the door.

I know lots of people don’t like going to the hairdressers, they are afraid of mistakes, and having someone messing around with their hair. I can appreciate that, but surely if you go to a reputable company, you are less likely for this to happen.

But what I don’t understand is that this company, and probably lots of the high street chains, are missing a trick.  I never see any promotional photos in the windows of anyone other than young people with healthy looking hair. Not one with thinning locks, or grey around the edges. And that’s such a shame, because we older ladies are as likely to have a disposable income as much as the youngsters who these salons are trying to attract.  The salons need to say – we can cut, colour and style your hair as well as we can style the hair of young people. Why don’t you come in and try us, and see for yourself?

We see so much advertising used by companies, slim girls and women, airbrushed & flawless. And the other brands who are challenging this stereotyping by using ‘normal everyday’ women are so few and far between, but to me these are the ones who are so refreshing to see.

I’m an ordinary woman, a little overweight, not very stylish but it gives me so much confidence knowing my hair is enhancing my look. Let other women like me know you are there for them, because unless you tell them, they wont be able to guess it from your advertising campaigns.

To these organisations I say – don’t forget us as we grow older, we still deserve to be valued as individuals.

Standard

Leave a Reply

